#300 ~ Psalm Series. 14

I imagined his mouth

I did. It was smooth

clean

In my mind it was sweet, I kissed it reverently

drinking in all that I was supposed to

when mouths collide.

But…amidst the saliva and the flesh

I found there was nothing…nothing precious

sacred or sanctified

It was just a silent orifice, there for a moment of pleasure

But it didn’t enrich or reward me

After all that, I had to  return to the far more mundane mouth

crowded with straggling hairs and a ready smile

a wry smile

a soft twitch of the lips

but it was lined with silver, gold and an infinite…

joy

Psalm 119 vs 72: The law of your mouth is better to me than thousands of gold and silver pieces. 

Tagged , , , , , ,

Let me hear your Voice

